Author Topic: 1GB RAM modules  (Read 9093 times)

elms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
1GB RAM modules
« on: June 26, 2007, 10:10:38 AM »
Memory is going cheap recently and I'm considering maxing it out... maybe 1 x 1GB or straight to 2 x 1GB. I read that 855PM chipsets support up to 512 mbit technology so I presume only 16 chip versions can work.

Has anyone tried putting in 1 GB modules into their X1000? Does it work with popular generic models from Kingston, Crucial, Infineon, Corsair, Apacer etc. or must I use those ultra pricey "system specific memory" such as KTH-ZD7000/1G or KTC-P2800/1G that Kingston technical support advised me to use?

Also, do you think that getting 2GB RAM will help cover the shortfall of video memory in the X1000 to allow me to play some decent games or watch HD movies? The system can be quite sluggish when I do either.
1.8GHz Dothan
1.25GB RAM (1GB Apacer DDR400 CL3 + 256MB Elpida DDR266 CL2)
Mobility Radeon 64MB
Seagate 60GB 5400rpm
IPW2100

humsap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 1GB RAM modules
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2007, 04:34:32 PM »
I have 2 1GB Kingston PC2700 DDR SODIMM installed on my Presario X1020US. There is a memory slot on the back of the notebook and there is another memory slot located under the keyboard. It took me about 10 minutes to install both 1GB memory sticks. When you start your machine the BIOS will auto-detect the change in memory configuration and prompt you to save the configuration changes. My BIOS version is F55.
I got my memory from
http://www.memoryexpress.com/index.php?PageTag=&page=file&memx_menu=EmbedProductDetail.php&DisplayProductID=6072&SID=
Compaq Presario X1020US
Pentium M 755 2.0GHz CPU, 2GB PC2700 Kingston RAM, 60GB 7200rpm HD, 8x DVD-RW, Intel 2200BG Wireless, HP Bluetooth module.

elms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: 1GB RAM modules
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2007, 08:41:09 PM »
Right, so the KVR333X64SC25/1G does work. This was Kingston Tech Support's reply to me when I made enquiries before I joined this forum.

"We will not be able to recommend you with the KVR333X64SC25/1G for HP/Compaq Presario Notebook X1032AP. However if you insist to purchase the KVR333X64SC25/1G then we will not be able to guarantee the compatibility with HP/Compaq Presario Notebook X1032AP."

<Sigh>
1.8GHz Dothan
1.25GB RAM (1GB Apacer DDR400 CL3 + 256MB Elpida DDR266 CL2)
Mobility Radeon 64MB
Seagate 60GB 5400rpm
IPW2100

ganyaik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: 1GB RAM modules
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2008, 05:07:29 AM »
Just about to upgrade my machine(X1201us) memorywise and read the thread now. So what was the outcome? Does the KVR333X64SC25/1G work in the X1000 series?
Thanks,
Chris

bili_39

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: 1GB RAM modules
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2008, 01:23:54 PM »
I've upgraded my nx7010 with 1GB MDT 333 MHz chip. Runs great.
I guess any 333 MHz module will run. Kingston should be fine.

ganyaik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: 1GB RAM modules
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2008, 03:35:38 AM »
Update: Finally I bought an OCZ DDR333 1G module and it runs fine together with the other Noname(AFAIK) DDR400 1GB module. Now I have 2 gigs and hope my trusty 4.5 yrs old machine will last for a good while... :)